Welcome to Newbattle Parish Church

Sunday Worship is 11am at Mayfield and Easthouses Church

Part of the Church of Scotland, our Parish is the largest in Lothian Presbytery and covers the 3 areas of Newbattle, Mayfield & Easthouses and Newtongrange .

We are one congregation with a strong belief in being part of our community.

Hopefully you will find what you need on this website but if not then  please contact us either by phone 0131 663 3245 or email churchoffice@newbattleparish.org


Join us as we journey through the great 50 days between Easter and Pentecost every week at 11am in Mayfield and Easthouses Church.

On Sunday the 14th May we mark Christian Aid Sunday with a joint service with the congregation of St Nicholas Buccleuch at Mayfield and Easthouses. If you are unable to join us in person, you can join us online via this link: https://www.facebook.com/stnicholasbuccleuch/ 

Bible Studies

If you would like to journey through Advent and Lent with others, come along to Mayfield and Easthouses church every Thursday in Advent or Lent from 10am-11am. In a small group setting, we can prepare for Christmas and Easter by exploring key Bible passages and discussing their relevance for our lives today. Everyone is welcome.

Prayer Group

If you’d like to join others for a time for prayer, come along to the Prayer Group on Tuesdays 10am-11am in Mayfield and Easthouses church. We pray together for a variety of topics, including specific requests from church members, church activities, community and national issues as well as global concerns like poverty and the environment.

Whether you are new to praying or have prayed for years, the Prayer Group offers opportunity to learn more about prayer, grow in confidence and faith plus it also encourages us to keep on praying.

JAM Club (Jesus and Me)

Our after school group for primary aged children The JAM Club is on every fortnight on a Thursday afternoon 3.45pm – 5.15pm. (25th May, 8th June, 22nd June before the summer holiday).

Cafe and New2U Shop

Every Wednesday the church cafe and shop provide an opportunity in a warm bank space for people to come and meet between 10am and 12noon.

Art Group

If you are interested in developing your artistic skills and enjoy company, why not come along to our Art Group in Mayfield and Easthouses church on Wednesday afternoons 2.00pm-3.30pm. After a cup of tea, we get stuck into painting or drawing activities. At the moment we focus on doing artwork based on a monthly theme, although folks are welcome to do their own thing as well.

Art materials are provided plus the group is free and open to all levels of artistic ability. It’s a lovely opportunity to make friends, express spirituality through art and enjoy being creative in an encouraging and supportive atmosphere.

Men’s Group

This group meets for a time of fellowship every Thursday starting with a soup lunch at 12noon.

The Great 50 Days

Having celebrated Easter Sunday we now move through a period in the church calendar called “The Great 50 days” towards the festival of Pentecost. Join us every Sunday at 11am in Mayfield and Easthouses for our services. All welcome. Out after school group for primary aged children The JAM Club returns of Thursday the 27th… Read More

Lent and Easter 2023

Join us Sunday by Sunday during March for the journey of Lent at 11am in Mayfield and Easthouses Church. Then in April, on Palm Sunday, the 2nd April at 11am, we begin Holy Week. Children’s Easter Cafe Special Easter Services at Mayfield and Easthouses Church Easter Saturday at Newtongrange – Easter Trail in the church… Read More

February Worship and Church Life 2023

Join us for worship every Sunday at 11am as follows: Sunday 5th February 11am at Mayfield and Easthouses Church Sunday 12th February 11am at Mayfield and Easthouses Church Sunday 19th February 11am – special joint service at St Nicholas Buccleuch Church, Dalkeith Sunday 26th February 11am at Mayfield and Easthouses Church followed by tea and… Read More